The Blue Eyed Warrior

The Adventures of the Norse Goddess of War

2011 Kauai Marathon

Finished in 5:47:43 (0fficial). Not a PR, but not a PW either. That was the hardest race I’ve ever run in my life. The hills were RIDICULOUS and never ending. Longest, steepest hills I’ve ever seen in my life. I think I was basically running up and down a volcano. That was a seriously challenging course, but I’m glad I did it. Here is the elevation chart:

The elevation gain was 2,020 feet. Need I say more???? That race hurt…bad! The hills were CRAZY!!! My calves were hurting in the first 2 miles and took a while to warm up. After the first two miles they were feeling good. Then, by mile 15, my calves were crying and were completely shot. By mile 20 my left hamstring was hurting bad and was completely trashed. ┬áStill, I tried to manage smiles for the photographers — all of whom were perched at the top of hills, thank you very much! Sheesh!

Mile 9 was all downhill! LOL, That’s why it only took 9:54 to complete.

Toward the end of the race in the final 2 miles they had the gall to put another race photographer at the top of another hill. I didn’t want to be walking when I was photographed so I ran up the hill to look good in the photo. That hurt bad!!! LOL The woman next to me in the photo below caught up to me and saw me run that. She made me laugh–she said she didn’t think I had it in me. LOL ┬áThen she explained that she told herself, ‘Screw it! She was going to walk up that hill. She didn’t care about the photographer. She wasn’t buying the photos anyway.” Haha.

I’m happy I did this race. I really feel like I accomplished something extraordinary. My PR is 5:26 and my PW is 6:27. I really thought that with all the hills, this was going to be a 6:15 or 6:30 marathon for me. I’m astonished that I finished in less than 6 hours. I’m proud that i finished in 5:47. That was a tough race.

1 Comment»

  Brian Beatty wrote @

wow that is a seriously intense elevation chart!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

